Spark Awards

//Spark Awards
Spark Awards 2018-02-07T16:15:04+00:00

Spark Awards


Wednesday, May 16  
Hotel Henry at the Richardson Complex

The annual awards party honoring outstanding individuals and organizations in our arts community with food and drinks, entertainment, a live art raffle, and awards featuring the works of all the winners and finalists.  It’s now time for the 2nd year at the Hotel Henry!


Click here to Nominate – Deadline is March 1
  • Nominations are now open in the categories below from Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, and Niagara Counties.
  • Anyone can submit a nomination including those for your own organization or for yourself.
  • Winners will be chosen by a panel made up of representatives of the ASI Board of Directors and other community leaders.

Nominations are due Thursday, March 1 by 12pm.

**We encourage you to contact ASI at 716.362.8389 x512 if you have questions about a particular nomination category or nominee.**


This award honors an organization, individual at an organization, or individual artist for their career-long body of work, especially on the occasion of a new phase of that work such as retirement, job switch, etc.

This award honors an individual for their efforts to call attention to the importance of the arts through their work in advocacy, arts administration, curating, and/or promotion. This individual can be at any level in their career or involvement in the arts and uses “boots on the ground” methods to bring the arts to the public and WNY communities.

This award honors a relatively new organization, someone new in their position or organization, or a group or artist entering the next phase in their development.

This award honors an individual or an organization outside the arts sector for their work in directly aiding the cultural sector.

This award honors an unpaid individual or group that has made a major impact on an arts organization or the sector through their volunteer service.

This award honors a non-arts project, program, or initiative that has used arts and culture to significantly enhance its work.


This award honors an individual artist in any discipline for their achievements in 2017.

This award honors a not-for-profit or for-profit arts organization for its achievements in 2017.

All Proceeds Benefit



M&T Logo

Partner Sponsors

Supporting Sponsors

Patron Sponsors

Friends of ASI

  • Buffalo Urban Development Corporation (BUDC)

  • Castellani Art Museum of Niagara University

  • Erie County Industrial Development Agency (ECIDA)

  • Evergreen Health

  • Lewiston Council on the Arts

  • Univera Healthcare



Anthony C. Conte, 2017
Saul Elkin, 2016
Jonathan Rogers, 2015
Molly Bethel (Locust Street Art), 2014

WNED/WBFO , 2017
Niagara Tourism & Convention Corporation, 2016
Paul Hogan, 2015
Lynn Marinelli, 2014

University District Community Development Association in collaboration with Nicholas Conrad Miller for “Bailey Fights Blight” Mural Program, 2017
710 Main Theatre and Buffalo Laboratory Theatre for “The Mystery of the Silver Chalice”, 2016
Opportunities Unlimited of Niagara Fine Arts Program, 2015
Karen Sirgey with Niagara Wheatfield High School, 2014

Jon Lehrer, 2017
University Heights Arts Association, 2016
Danceability, 2015
Infinity Visual & Performing Arts Center, 2014
M&T Bank, 2017
Buffalo Spree Magazine, 2016
Rigidized Metals (Silo City), 2015
Fund for the Arts, 2014
Rita Argen Auerbach, 2017
Carl Klingenschmitt & Sue Fay Allen (Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra), 2016
Gerald Mead, 2015
Dick and Carmen Gilman (1891 Fredonia Opera House), 2014
Roswell Park Cancer Institute, 2017
Elgin Wolfe & Tri-Main Development, 2016
Dr. Timothy Murphy and the University at Buffalo Clinical and Translational Research Center, 2015
Tom Toles (The Washington Post), 2016
Tom Calderone (President VH1), 2015
M. Jacquie Lodico, 2017
Burton Notarius, 2014

Winners & Finalists

Drea d’Nur, 2017 (WINNER)
David Moog, 2017
Gary Sczerbaniewicz, 2017

Zuri Elise Appleby, 2016
Chuck Tingley, 2016
Adam Zyglis, 2016 (WINNER)

Sarah Fonzi, 2015
Ntare Ali Gault, 2015
David Michael Miller, 2015 (WINNER)

Shasti O’Leary Soudant, 2014 (WINNER)
Mikel Wintermantel, 2014
MarCe Zerrate, 2014

1891 Fredonia Opera House, 2017
Kenan Center, 2017 (WINNER)
Springville Center for the Arts, 2017

Buffalo Choral Arts Society, 2016
Just Buffalo Literary Center, 2016 (WINNER)
Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site, 2016

Albright-Knox Art Gallery, 2015
Lucille Ball Desi Arnaz Center for Comedy, 2015
Niagara Arts & Cultural Center, 2015 (WINNER)

Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, 2014 (WINNER)
Squeaky Wheel/Buffalo Media Resources, 2014
Torn Space Theater, 2014

All Proceeds Benefit

Support ASI