Fendrick Theatre Fund


The next round of funding for this grant will be available in Summer 2020

Call for applications from actors, directors, writers, producers, designers, storytellers, performance artists, musicians, dancers, multimedia theater artists, and more!

The David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund was established at the Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo in memory of David Roos Fendrick (1941-1988), critically applauded Western New York actor, director, writer and scholar.  Fendrick was the youngest member of the first Lincoln Center Repertory Company and went on to a respected career in regional theaters across the country, including Buffalo’s Studio Arena Theatre.  Among his many distinguished performances was his portrayal of Irish rebel and writer Brendan Behan in a one-man show that continues to hold the record as Buffalo’s longest-running theatrical performance.

The spirit of the David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund supports:

  • Independent Artists
  • Projects with the potential for production
  • Unique projects
  • Under-represented voices

Submission Deadlines

Final Application Due August 27, 2018 – 11:59PM
Funding Announcement Sept 14, 2018 – Curtain Up!


  • The grant is designated in support of one creative theater artist ($1,000 award) and is made in memory of fund establishers and founders Neil Garvey and Jesse Kregal.

  • The selection committee will consider all proposals that support the writing or production of new works, the new production of an existing work, experimental and multi-media theatrical productions or the completion of works in progress.  The project proposed should be mid-way in its life span (beyond the conceptual stage, yet not to the point it would be considered general operating for an established theatre).

  • Eligible applicants include actors, directors, writers, designers, performance artists, musicians or any person, regardless of descriptive title or relationship to a particular institution, who contributes to the creative process of theatre.

  • Selection will be based on the quality of the proposal and the merit of past work.  Preference will be given to projects that demonstrate a feasible plan for completion and performance in the Greater Buffalo area.

  • Since 1989 the David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund has awarded grants to individual artists to enable them to realize or take part in a specific work of theater.


Respondents are required to submit one copy of the application as well as any attachments and work samples through the below online grants system by 11:59PM EST on MONDAY August 27, 2018.

Proposals received electronically after 11:59PM EST on Monday August 27, 2018 will be automatically rejected without exception and without review.

Preview the Application
Register and Complete Application


Past grant recipients include:

Heather Fangsrud, 2018, “Knock Knock, Jesus Calling”
Matthew LaChiusa, 2016, to commission “The Inquiry Into the Fate of the U.S.S. Pequod”
Joy Scime, 2016, for production of “Dissonance”
David Oliver, 2008, playwright, for research on Vincent Van Gogh
Anna Kay France, 2005, for playwriting for “The Great Tree”
Anthony Cardinale, 2002, for the production of the original play “The Red Heifer, A Tale of Jerusalem”
Kelly Beuth, 2001, for the production of Sternberg’s “Miss Julie”
Timothy White, 2000, Life Achievement Award
Susan Hodge Anner, 1999, for playwriting “Searching for Cindy Crawford”
Kenneth Shaw, 1998, for design and written adaptation of the Nancy Drew Book, “The Mystery at Lilac Inn” by Carolyne Keene (Edward Stratemeyer) for TOY Company
Geraldine Duskin, 1997, for costume design, “Cardinal in the Snow” a premiere Pick of the Crop Dance Company Production, based on the poetry of Rilke
Jerry Finnegan, 1996, to take his production of Samuel Beckett’s “Krapp’s Last Tape” to the Edinburgh Theatre Festival
Vincent O’ Neill, 1995, to develop a stage adaptation of “Finnegan’s Wake” by James Joyce
Kelli Grey Bocock and Michael Hake, 1994, to produce a musical adaptation of “The Snark” by Lewis Carroll
Jack Hunter, 1993, to produce “The Speed of Darkness” by Steve Tesich
Michele Costa, 1992, to develop puppetry production, “On the Hill,” based on “Spoon River Anthology” by Edgar Lee Masters
Robert Waterhouse, 1991, to direct “The Seagull” by Anton Chekhov
Tom Dooney, 1990, to direct “La Ronde” by Arthur Schnitzler